all reviews
Michala Petri, recorder
Carolin Widmann, violin
Mozart Flute Quartets
Interview with Michala
02 December 2014
Ihr Name ist in der Musikwelt ein Begriff, wenn es um ihr Instrument, die Blockflöte, geht. Michala Petri hat mit diesem Instrument, das so einfach zu handhaben und zu spielen scheint, eine Weltkarriere, die mit diesem Instrument wohl noch keiner vor ihr hatte. In diesem Jahr feiert die aktive Dänin bereits ihren 50. Geburtstag. Doch, was noch beeindruckender ist: Sie kann in der Saison 2008/09 bereits ihr 40. Bühnenjubiläum feiern. Und das mit einem der Kammermusik zugewandten Instrument, das man vor allem aus der Alte-Musik-Praxis kennt. Aber Michala Petri war niemals Teil dieser seit den 60er Jahren so populär gewordenen Art des Musizierens. Kaum mag man es glauben. Wir trafen Michala Petri in Dänemark und unterhielten uns mit ihr über ihren Werdegang und ihre Ansichten zum Blockflötenspiel.

Carsten Dürer

Ensemble: Sie haben sich ja enorm früh für die Blockflöte als Instrument entschieden, in einem Alter, in dem viele Kinder wohl noch keine konkrete Idee haben, welches Instrument sie überhaupt spielen wollen, und vielleicht sogar noch davon träumen, später einmal ein anderes Instrument zu spielen. Wieso also die Blockflöte?

Michala Petri: Nun, das kam sehr natürlich, auch dadurch, dass ich die erste Blockflöte bereits mit drei Jahren von meinem Vater geschenkt bekommen habe. Wenn ich jetzt zurückdenke – auch in den Krisen, die ich mit diesem Instrument in all den Jahren hatte und in denen ich mich selbst gefragt habe, warum ich dieses Instrument spiele –, dann war es für mich immer das richtige Instrument, schon als ich fünf Jahre alt war. Mein erster Auftritt war, als ich fünf Jahre alt war. Und ich kann mich heute noch sehr genau daran erinnern, wie ich mich in dieser Situation gefühlt habe. Ich habe gespürt, dass die Situation wichtig ist, dass es etwas Richtiges war, was ich da tat. Ich spürte, dass es wahr ist, was ich da tue, auch wenn ich damals das Wort „wahr" noch gar nicht kannte oder wahrnehmen konnte. Das war etwas Essenzielles.

Ensemble: Das heißt: Das Instrument passte einfach zu Ihnen?

Michala Petri: Ja. Ich habe später ja auch noch Querflöte gespielt, ein Instrument, das mich nie richtig angesprochen hat. Meine Eltern hatten mir die Querflöte geschenkt, als ich 11 oder 12 Jahre alt war. Vielleicht war es die frühe Erfahrung des Auftretens mit der Blockflöte, die mir signalisierte, dass dies genau das Richtige ist.Jedenfalls spielte ich einige Jahre lang, bis ich 16 Jahre alt war, die Querflöte, parallel zur Blockflöte, bin sogar kurzzeitig aufs Konservatorium mit diesem Instrument gegangen, habe es aber dann aufgegeben. Zum einen dachte ich, dass ich nicht so viel auf diesem Instrument kann wie die anderen Schüler, zum anderen hatte ich den Eindruck, dass dieses Instrument zu einfach zu spielen sei. Ich war es von der Blockflöte ja gewohnt, extrem präzise zu spielen. Nun wird jeder Querflötenspieler sagen, dass man das auch muss, wenn man Querflöte spielt. Aber man hat die Klappen, und das macht einen kleinen Unterschied, wenn man Blockflöte spielt. Und ich spürte, dass mein Spiel auf der Blockflöte immer schlampiger wurde, wenn ich die Querflöte viel gespielt habe. Und auch der Atemdruck ist viel grober bei der Querflöte, man muss viel stärker physisch arbeiten. Zu dieser Zeit war ich ja bereits 16 Jahre alt und hatte schon sehr viel zu tun, spielte viele Konzerte. Und so entschied ich mich endgültig für die Blockflöte.

Ensemble: Nicht ganz so schnell bitte. Haben Sie niemals auf ein anderes Instrument geschielt? Auf die Geige oder das Klavier?

Michala Petri: Klavierspielen habe ich geliebt, als ich es in meinem Studium spielen musste. Aber davon einmal abgesehen: In meinem Ohr habe ich immer den Klang einer Geige, wenn ich die Blockflöte spiele, wenn ich etwas Musikalisches gestalten soll und will. Entweder eine Singstimme, oder aber halt eine Geige.

Ensemble: Warum ausgerechnet eine Geige?

Michala Petri: Vielleicht, weil mein Vater Geiger ist. Aber auch deshalb, da es so viele großartige Musiker gibt, die Geiger sind, alles im Bereich des Klangs einfach gestalten können. Und das ist das Maximale, was ich mir auf einem Ein-Ton-Instrument wie der Blockflöte vorstellen kann.

Ensemble: Für Sie war es ja schon von früh an so, dass die Musikrichtung, die man fast gleichbedeutend mit der Blockflöte setzt, die Barockmusik, bei Ihnen niemals der Fokus war. Ist das richtig?

Michala Petri: Es war auch nicht außerhalb des Fokus, allein aufgrund der Ausbildung. Aber ich habe immer versucht, weiterzukommen, als das, was es schon gibt. Und vielleicht habe ich auch bald schon gespürt, dass es viele andere Blockflötisten gibt, die bereits viel Barockmusik spielen – und kaum solche, die neue Werke für Blockflöte schreiben lassen, oder auch nur interpretieren.

Ensemble: Hat es auch damit zu tun gehabt, dass Sie anders sein wollten, vielleicht auch anders als die anderen Studenten, mit denen Sie studiert haben, die aber hauptsächlich Barockmusik spielten?

Michala Petri: Ja und nein, denn ich war ja eh anders, da ich ja schon mit 11 Jahren zu studieren begonnen habe.

Ensemble: Hier in Dänemark?

Michala Petri: Nein, in Hannover. Ich habe nach der vierten Klasse die Schule abgebrochen und bin dann an die Hochschule in Hannover gegangen. Die anderen waren also um die 18 Jahre und ich war 11 Jahre. Natürlich habe ich dann erst einmal das gesamte Barockrepertoire von meinem Lehrer Ferdinand Konrad gelernt. Aber für ihn war es dann auch bald interessant, dass es neue Stücke gab. Denn ich habe ja schon das erste Stück mit sechs Jahren gewidmet bekommen, von Henning Christiansen, einem dänischen Komponisten, der später Kunstprofessor in Deutschland war.

Ensemble: Warum aber das Ausland, warum Hannover, als Sie noch so jung waren?

Michala Petri: Mein damaliger Lehrer hier in Dänemark hatte meiner Mutter empfohlen, dass ich Ferdinand Konrad vorspielen sollte, damit er meine Zukunft beurteilensollte. Es sollte ein kurzer Besuch werden, aberdann war er so begeistert, dass er mich sogleich in seine Klasse aufnehmen wollte.

Ensemble: Sind Sie dann alleine nach Hannover gezogen?

Michala Petri: Ich habe weiterhin in Dänemark gewohnt, bin aber mit meiner Mutter jeden Montagabend mit dem Zug nach Hannover gefahren und Dienstagund Mittwochmorgen habe ich dann Stunden bekommen, und am Mittwochabend ging es wieder zurück. Das habe ich bis zum Alter von 17 Jahren gem acht.

Ensemble: Gab es dann auch in Ihrem Werdegang Kurse bei Lehrern, die sich mit der Alte-Musik-Praxis beschäftigten?

Michala Petri: Die ersten Jahre habe ich nur Blockflötenstunden bekommen, dann habe ich auch die Musikgeschichte gelernt, allerdings nur sehr wenig, muss ich sagen. Musiktheorie habe ich dann privat bei einem Lehrer in Dänemark gemacht.

Ensemble: Doch noch einmal gefragt: War die ganze Alte-Musik-Bewegung nicht beeinflussend oder interessant für Sie als Blockflötistin?

Michala Petri: Ja, es war interessant gewesen, aber auch irgendwie als Gegenbeispiel zu meinen eigenen Überzeugungen und meinem eigenen Spiel. Ferdinand Konrad war ja noch aus der Generation vor Frans Brüggen. Damals waren diese Musiker wie Brüggen, der ja auch einmal mit modernerer Musik angefangen hat, sehr extrem; das muss man auch sein, wenn man als einer der Ersten eine neue Richtung vertritt. Aber als ich dann auch musikalisch zu derselben Generation gehörte, war mir diese Ausdruckswelt auch fremd. Zudem war ich überaus
loyal zu meinem Lehrer, der eine andere Richtung des
Spiels vertrat.

Ensemble: Es ist also schon eine vollkommen andere Art des Spiels, vor allem des Phrasierens?

Michala Petri: Es ist anders, ich empfinde es natürlich vor allem ganz anders. Man hat ja barock gestimmte 16 ensemble 4/08 Flöten und modern gestimmte Flöten. Meine Flöten waren immer Barockflöten, aber in moderner Stimmung. Sofort wenn ich eine Barockflöte in die Hand nehme, dann spiele ich auch anders. Als ich fertig mit meinem Studium war, in dem ich nie die Gelegenheit hatte, eine barock gestimmte Flöte zu spielen, war ich dann natürlich auf eine bestimmte Art des Spielens eingeschworen. Aber es gibt auch noch eine andere Ebene. Ich bin ja oft
gefragt worden, warum ich anders spiele als andere. Und natürlich habe ich mir darüber immer schon Gedanken gemacht. Ich spiele auf eine moderne Weise die Flöte, vielleicht eher mit einer romantischen Sichtweise. Wenn man also eine größere Perspektive sieht, dann muss man einfach sagen: Diese Art des Spiels ist die, die ich gelernt habe. Wenn ich versuche anders zu spielen, dann ist das für mich selbst einfach unwahr.

Ensemble: Kann man das beispielsweise mit der Geige vergleichen, denn man lernt ja in der Regel auch das moderne Geigenspiel und müsste sein Spiel für die barocke Spielweise verändern?

Michala Petri: Ja, das kann man vergleichen, Hilary
Hahn beispielsweise spielt ja auch Bach auf der modernen Geige. Man würde sie ja auch nicht fragen, warum sie keine unveränderte Geige nach historischem Vorbild mit einer anderen Technik spielt.

Ensemble: Warum fragt man denn Hilary Hahn nicht danach, Sie aber immer wieder?

Michala Petri: Ich glaube, da man sie spielen hören will, und nicht sie mit einer anderen Technik, denke ich.

Ensemble: Hat es nicht auch mit einer Tradition zu tun, die bei der Geige kompositorisch und spieltechnisch ununterbrochen ist? Bei der Blockflöte ist die Tradition ja für lange Zeit unterbrochen worden.

Michala Petri: Nun, das ist richtig und nicht ganz richtig. Es gab tatsächlich auch in der Romantik Blockflöten. Sie waren anders gebaut, länger gebaut, auch mit Klappen versehen und mit einem größeren Ton. Aber das Prinzip der Tonerzeugung mit einem Block war das gleiche. Dieses Instrument ist zwar vergessen, wird aber bei Beethoven erwähnt und existierte noch darüber hinaus. Zudem gab es ja in der Militärmusik das Flageolett, von dem man bis vor kurzem annahm, es sei nur ein kleines Instrument, mit einem kleinen Ton. Aber man hat festgestellt, dass man mit einem Schwamm, richtig positioniert im Instrument, mit diesem Instrument große Lautstärken erzielen kann. Diese Instrumente zeigen, dass die Blockflöte irgendwie jedenfalls immer da war, aber nicht mehr solch eine große Rolle spielte. Und dann ist die Blockflöte Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts wieder neu entdeckt worden. Das heißt, die Linie ist nicht ganz ununterbrochen, aber das Instrument ist immer vorhanden gewesen.

Ensemble: In Deutschland wurde die Blockflöte in den 60er Jahren ja dann wiederentdeckt als leicht zu transportierendes und zu spielendes Instrument, von der Wandervogelbewegung. Die Pädagogen griffen das auf und so wurde die Blockflöte bald schon das Schüler- und Anfängerinstrument Nr. 1, was dazu führte, dass sie bis heute einen recht schlechten Ruf als Anfänger-, aber nicht ernsthaftes Instrument besitzt. Wie stehen Sie zu dieser Beurteilung?

Michala Petri: Die Blockflöte ist ja auch leicht zu spielen, am Anfang. Aber wenn man dann so spielen will wie eine Geige oder Oboe, ist es ein schwer zu spielendes Instrument. Dann ist es sogar schwieriger. Das Instrument ist ja viel primitiver aufgebaut, man hat nur den einen Kanal, durch den man bläst. Wenn man lauter spielt, dann steigt der Ton, wenn man leiser spielt, dann fällt er ab. Man hat nicht so viele Möglichkeiten, den Ton mit dem Ansatz zu verändern. Das heißt, ich weiß, dass ich  rgendetwas im Innern des Munds mache, was den Ton verändert, was genau, kann ich nicht sagen, da muss man Leute fragen, die das sicherlich schon erforscht haben. Aber das muss man sich in jedem Fall selbst erarbeiten.

Ensemble: Wenn man schon für Sie ein modernes Werk geschrieben hat, als Sie sechs Jahre alt waren, und diese modernen Kompositionen sich durch Ihr ganzes Leben durchgezogen haben, kann man dann sagen, dass dies der Beginn einer neuen Traditionslinie für die Blockflöte war?

Michala Petri: Das ist schwer zu sagen, ich weiß nicht, ob das richtig wäre. Ich weiß ja, dass auch Ferdinand Konrad und Frans Brüggen zu dieser Zeit auch ganz moderne Werke interpretiert haben. Ich war nicht der erste Interpret, nur dass es sich bei mir fortgeführt hat. Meine Mutter hat sehr schnell und früh Komponisten gefragt, ob sie nicht für mich schreiben wollen.

Ensemble: Nach dem Studium ging es ja mit der Karriere bei Ihnen ganz schnell weiter, viele Konzerte, aber auch immer wieder moderne Werke. Hatte sich das so etabliert, dass Michala Petri moderne Werke spielt?

Michala Petri: Nein, fast immer habe ich die Komponisten gefragt.

Ensemble: Warum fragt man moderne Komponisten? Reichte das Repertoire nicht, das vorhanden war?

Michala Petri: Damals war ich noch so jung, dass ich
alles tat, was man mir sagte. Hätte man mir also gesagt, ich solle nur Barockmusik spielen, hätte ich das auch getan. Meine Mutter war aber immer an moderner Musik interessiert, so dass ich immer moderne Stücke bekommen habe. Die habe ich dann auch mit sehr viel Freude gespielt. Ich habe immer eine Verbindung zur heutigen Welt in diesen Werken gespürt, die ich in der Barockmusik vermisst habe.
Mein Leben war zudem auch sehr isoliert, da ich ja nicht mehr zur Schule ging. Wenn ich also mit einem
Komponisten zusammenarbeiten konnte, dann war ich ein Teil des Lebens. Das hat auch dazu beigetragen, dass ich diese Art von Musik immer wieder gespielt habe.

Ensemble: Das hört sich auch ein wenig tragisch an ...

Michala Petri: Ja, das war es auch, aber jede Medaille hat zwei Seiten. Wenn diese Einsamkeit nicht vorhanden gewesen wäre, dann hätte ich vielleicht nicht so viel gearbeitet, um das Leben führen zu können, das ich heute führe.

Ensemble: Denken Sie, dass die Blockflöte – so wie Sie sie verstehen – eher ein Soloinstrument ist, oder mehr ein Kammermusikinstrument?

Michala Petri: Eine schwierige Frage. Alle Soloinstrumente können ja auch Kammermusikinstrumente sein. Aber für mich ist die Blockflöte ein Soloinstrument, ich bin von Natur aus eher ein Solospieler.

Ensemble: Aber Sie spielen ganz viel Kammermusik ...

Michala Petri: Ja sicher. Aber auch dann, wenn ich mit einem großen Orchester spiele, spiele ich immer Kammermusik. Das Instrument aber hat ein Recht in sich selbst.  Anders ausgedrückt: Ich sehe die Blockflöte gar nicht als Instrument, sondern die
Blockflöte ist nur ein Vehikel, über das ich mich ausdrücken kann. Sie ist eine natürliche Fortsetzung von mir selbst. [denkt nach] Vielleicht kenne ich das Instrument einfach zu gut, um darüber irgendwie überhaupt urteilen zu können. Ich spiele dieses
Instrument gerne, auch wenn ich heute vielleicht ein anderes Instrument wählen würde, wenn ich am Anfang vor der Wahl stände. Denn es wäre dann vielleicht leichter, all das auszudrücken, was ich gerne ausdrücken möchte. Dann würde ich vielleicht
eher die Klarinette wählen, denn von meiner Natur aus bin ich in jedem Fall eine Blasinstrumentenspielerin.

Ensemble: Wegen der ganzen Erfahrungen mit diesem Instrument und den Situationen in Ihrer Laufbahn würden Sie auch ein anderes Instrument wählen? Oder spürt man bei all dem Wollen des Ausdrückens von Musik und von Emotionen, dass die Blockflöte doch limitiert ist?

Michala Petri: Es ist limitiert, ohne Zweifel. Und man muss immer mit dieser Limitierung kämpfen. Aber immer, wenn ich denke, ich bin an eine Grenze gelangt, dann kommt in mir oder auch in den Instrumenten eine neue Entwicklung, die wieder neue
Möglichkeiten bietet. Dann fängt man fast von vorne an. Auch die neuen Flöten, die Mollenhauer und Moeck entwickelt haben, waren eine neue Herausforderung für mich. Eigentlich habe ich sie viel zu kurz gespielt, nur ein paar Jahre.

Ensemble: Die Entwicklung ist also noch gar nicht zu Ende?

Michala Petri: Nein, überhaupt nicht, ich lerne immer noch, auch immer mit anderen Instrumenten.

Ensemble: Wie ist es überhaupt möglich, sich so lange, also 40 Jahre lang, mit einer Blockflöte auf den Bühnen der Welt halten zu können?

Michala Petri: Das ist Glück! [sie lacht] Ich habe nie vermieden zu reisen, die Welt ist sehr groß, man kann immer ein neues Publikum begeistern. Aber anstrengend ist es schon, ich kann schon verstehen, dass andere zu unterrichten beginnen. Das habe ich nie gemacht, da mir auch immer die Zeit gefehlt hat. Solange ich mit der Entwicklung der Blockflöte, mit der Entwicklung der Instrumente und meinem eigenen Spiel weiterkommen kann, werde ich auch auf der Bühne stehen.

Ensemble: Es gab eine Zeit, da war Michala Petri allen Menschen in der Musik ein Begriff. Dann war es auf ein Mal etwas weniger, warum war dies der Fall? Denn zuvor war Ihr Name für dieses Instrument ja fast marktbeherrschend.

Michala Petri: Das kann sein. Es gab einige Jahre, in denen ich nicht so viel gereist bin, da ich mich um meine Kinder kümmern wollte. Ansonsten wäre das auch gar nicht ungewöhnlich, da der Fokus immer eher auf jungen Musikern liegt. Immer diejenigen,
die neu sind, werden in den Medien und auch in den Konzerten bevorzugt. Das ist eine natürliche Sache, die ich akzeptiere. Vielleicht habe ich in den vergangenen Jahren auch weniger in Deutschland gespielt. Auch mein Aufhören bei BMG hat sicherlich
etwas damit zu tun, denn das Label hat immer wieder etwas für mich getan, hat immer wieder einmal ein Interview lanciert, das mir auch Konzerte verschaffte. Das hängt alles zusammen.
Aber das bedeutet nicht, dass ich weniger spiele. Nun, wo die Kinder größer sind, spiele ich auch wieder mehr im Ausland, auch in den USA, in Spanien und in Italien, wo ich nie wirklich viel gespielt habe.

Ensemble: Haben sich die Auftritte denn auch stärker hin zur Kammermusik verändert?

Michala Petri: Ja, es ist auch schön, denn immer wenn ich von Orchesterkonzerten zurückkehre zur Kammermusik, fühle ich mich so geborgen, so sicher – und auch freier.

Ensemble: Auch wenn es bei Ihnen selbst sehr natürlich kam, was könnten Sie heute Eltern und Anfängerschülern raten, wenn es um die Blockflöte geht?

Michala Petri: Dass ich finde, dass es für jedes Kind ein gutes Instrument ist. Ich finde es wichtig, dass jedes Kind ein Instrument spielt. Erstens, dass ein Kind überhaupt ein Instrument spielt, und zweitens, dass es ein Blasinstrument spielt; denn ich glaube, dass es die bessere Art von Instrument ist, da es mit dem Körper so eng in Zusammenhang ist. Eine Geige oder ein Klavier sind immer außerhalb des Körpers. Aber das kommt natürlich ganz auf das Kind an. Es gibt Kinder, die viel zu viel Kraft haben. Die Blockflöte hat auch eine immense Natürlichkeit, so dass ich glaube, Kinder kommen sehr schnell klar mit diesem Instrument und finden eine Verbindung zur Natur mit diesem Instrument. Das bedeutet: Wenn man in eine Blockflöte bläst, dann hat man überhaupt keine Beschränkung. Der Klang kommt sehr direkt zustande.

Ensemble: Was kann man denn Lehrern raten, um die Kinder länger bei der Blockflöte zu halten? Denn es ist ja bekannt, dass nach dem Einstieg mit diesem Instrument viele Kinder auch ganz schnell gelangweilt wieder aufhören oder sich einem anderen Instrument zuwenden.

Michala Petri: Nun, ich denke auch nicht, dass die Blockflöte für jedes Kind das richtige Instrument ist.

Ensemble: Nochmals zu den neuen Blockflöten von Mollenhauer und Moeck. Was ist daran anders?

Michala Petri: Sie haben einen größeren Tonumfang und eine andere Bohrung, daher kann man sie
lauter spielen. Das heißt, man kann stärker in das Instrument blasen, auch wenn sie nicht so leicht ansprechen.

Ensemble: Sind die Instrumente dann leichter zu spielen?

Michala Petri: Für einen unerfahrenen Spieler ist es leichter, ja. Denn man muss sich nicht so sehr zurücknehmen. Das ist ja überhaupt das große Problem bei der Blockflöte, dass man sich beständig zurückhalten muss, da man ansonsten keinen schönen Klang erzeugen kann. Und das fördert natürlich auch eine ganz bestimmte Mentalität, die nicht alle Leute verkraften, da man ungeheuer diszipliniert sein muss. Man kann nicht einfach losspielen, sondern muss den kleinen Klangkanal immer kontrollieren. Und das ist vielleicht meine Stärke gewesen, dass ich immer eine ungeheure Konzentration und gleichzeitig eine immense Kraft in meinem Spiel erreiche. Diese notwendige Disziplin würde ich nicht jedem Kind empfehlen. Denn alle Instrumente wirken auf den Spieler zurück.

Ensemble: Wie viel üben Sie heute noch?

Michala Petri: Wenn ich die Ruhe finde, dann übe ich drei Stunden am Tag.

Ensemble: Wie würden Sie selbst die Besonderheit Ihres Stils beschreiben?

Michala Petri: Meine Spielweise ist ehrlich, würde ich sagen. Ich bin mit mir selber sehr kritisch, weiß, wenn ich etwas richtig finde oder nicht richtig finde. Aber ich akzeptiere andere Meinungen sehr liberal. Das bedeutet: Wenn ich historisch richtig spielen könnte, aber die Leute mit dem Spiel nicht erreiche, dann habe ich doch nichts gewonnen. Wenn ich aber so spiele, wie ich es als richtig empfinde, aber es meine eigene Art des Ausdrucks ist, ich die Menschen, das Publikum damit auch erreichen kann, dann ist das doch das Wichtigste, oder?
Das bedeutet, wenn ich jemanden höre, der historisch spielt, dann akzeptiere ich das, nur ich will so nicht spielen.

Ensemble: Vielen Dank für das interessante Gespräch.

Michala Petri, recorder
Carolin Widmann, violin
Mozart Flute Quartets
Review of worldpremiere of Richard Harvey's Recorder Concerto Incantato with Michala Petri and City Chamber Orchestra of Hong Kong
Mark Tjhung
02 December 2014
Review: Michala Petri with the City Chamber Orchestra of Hong Kong
City Hall October 11

Serious recorder music is all too rare. But anyone who doubted that the wind instrument could be a legitimate solo instrument would have been proven very wrong on Sunday night. Michala Petri the much-lauded Danish recorder player, showed an enthralled packed City Hall what a diverse and spectacular solo instrument the recorder can be, as she took centre stage in a wonderful, florid, and joyous celebration of City Chamber Orchestra of Hong Kong's first decade.

Before the interval, Petri joined the orchestra for Vivaldi's Concerto for Flautino in C Major, one of the few composers who wrote regularly for the wind instrument. With her positively miniscule sopranino recorder, Petri's lines drifted along, both bird- and dream-like, always supremely in control of the breathless, continuous semiquaver and canyon-esque leaps.

The highlight of the evening came after the interval however, with the world premiere of Richard Harvey's Concerto Incantato, a work written specifically for this concert and for Michala Petri and five (or perhaps it was six?) of her recorders, ranging from the deeper, rounder tenor, to the twinkling sopranino. Described by the composer himself in the program notes as "a concerto for the Harry Potter generation", Harvey's work brings together a broad range of musical influences. The lengthy, five movement work, draws heavily on his background in cinematic music, particularly fantasy and sci-fi soundtracks, oozing walls of warm string harmony and a distinct story-telling quality – a highly consumable work commandingly performed. And most entertainingly, Harvey's prowess with the recorder stunned the audience, as he pulled a recorder from his pocket and joined Petri in a fun and upbeat encore.

Haydn's first Sturm und Drang symphony, no 39 in G minor, opened the concert; Sibelius' orchestral adaptation of two of his piano impromptus followed. And Astor Piazzola's sensual Tangazo ended the evening. But by that point, much of the audience's attention was still, perhaps emotionally, in the joy of the Harvey / Petri duet.

Overall, the concert was a fine tribute to the CCOHK's first decade – a testament to what they have built over their first years, and a more than promising start to the next.

Mark Tjhung
Mark Tjhung

Michala Petri, recorder
Carolin Widmann, violin
Mozart Flute Quartets
German Magazine Klassik Heute review on Mozart! 10 out of 10
Klassik Heute Magazine
02 December 2014
Mozart auf der Blockflöte? Sicher werden einige Aufführungspraxis-Fundamentalisten und Skeptiker schon die Idee allein verwerflich finden. Trotz alledem – Michala Petris Konzept einer Neuaufnahme der Flötenquartette Mozarts auf der Blockflöte ist aufgegangen. Ihre Argumente sind durchaus stichhaltig. Zum einen liegt der weiche, runde Klang einer Blockflöte dem der (hölzernen) Traversflöte, für die Mozart seine Quartette ja konzipiert hatte, näher als der silbrig brillante Ton einer modernen Querflöte; zum anderen darf man wohl getrost der Fragestellung nach der Legitimität einer Realisierung der Quartette des Booklet-Autors Claus Johansen folgen, der Mozart (selbstredend hypothetisch) antworten lässt: „Wie hoch ist das Honorar"?

Mich jedenfalls überzeugt Michala Petris Einspielung. Mehr noch, durch den ungewohnten Klang der Blockflöte hört man die Quartette gleichsam wie aus einer neuen Perspektive. Die spieltechnischen Entwicklungen der letzten Jahre und instrumentenspezifischen Neuerungen der Blockflöte sind an Michala Petri nicht spurlos vorübergegangen. Im Vergleich zu früher ist Petris Spiel klanglich flexibler geworden und hat an dynamischer Bandbreite und Expressivität gewonnen. Mit den drei Streicherinnen gelingt ihr ein perfektes, organisches Zusammenspiel. Kritikpunkte seien nicht verschwiegen: An einigen Stellen scheint mir die Blockflöte intonatorisch etwas zu hoch, und das Thema des A-Dur-Quartetts (dem Petri mit einer Sopranblockflöte Frische und Brillanz verleiht) wirkt – im Gegensatz zum Rest der Aufnahme – etwas undifferenziert und plan in Bezug auf Phrasierung und Artikulation. Trotz dieser kleinen Einschränkung eine überzeugende, absolut gültige Aufnahme, die so manchen Mozart-Freund positiv überraschen wird.

Heinz Braun (26.09.2008)
Künstlerische Qualität:
  9
Bewertungsskala: 1-10
Klangqualität:
  10

Gesamteindruck:
10

Klassik Heute Magazine

Michala Petri and Elisabet Selin
Axel Borup-Jørgensen (1924-2012)
Recorder music by Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Review in IRR on Recordermusic by Axel Borup-Jørgenssen
IRR Magazine
19 October 2014
The harpsichord also features on Recorder Music by Axel Borup-Jørgensen alongside percussion and the twin recorders of Elisabet Selin and Michala Petri, a similary new life afforded an ancient instrument previously exemplified in this column by Petri´s work with Palle Mikkelborgs and the Burgess disc covered in the October issue. The works are various combinations of these instruments, their structural rigour and striking timbral contrasts giving the programme a genuinely other-worldly quality, as if of a fascinating tradition imported wholesale from some parallel universe. However, I feel justified in delivering a reprimand for a fault I Thought was long extinct, which is failing to get native speakers to vet your booklet note translations, being told, for example, that one of the composer's early artistic skills was as " an impressive drawer" cue "part of the furniture" jokes) devalues the whole process of supporting music with text. Roger Thomas, International Record Review (IRR) January 2014.
IRR Magazine

Michala Petri and Elisabet Selin
Axel Borup-Jørgensen (1924-2012)
Recorder music by Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Enthusiastic US review on "Recordermusic by Axel Borup-Jørgensen"
Grego Applegate Edwards
04 September 2014
Up until now when I thought of recorders, I thought of the baroque and early music periods and the sound one hears in such contexts. It never occurred to me that the high modern arena would utilize the family of instruments and I cannot recall having heard such a thing.
But all that is in the past now that I have immersed myself in Axel Borup-Jorgensen's CD Recorder Music (OUR Recordings 8.226910). We are treated to eight compositions for various-sized recorders--alone, with harpsichord or with percussion. No less than seven of these works are enjoying their world premier recordings on this disk.

The recorder performances are in the hands of Michala Petri and Elisabet Selin, and they are impressive exponents indeed. Ingrid Myrhoj appears on harpsichord for two pieces; Gert Mortensen plays the multiple percussion instrument part on the one work involved. Everyone sounds great but it is the expanded recorder techniques and the clarity, dynamic thrust and elan of their execution that bring it all together.

Alex Borup-Jorgensen (1924-2012) wrote these works between 1975 and 2011. That they were a labor of love seems clear as you listen. The mastering of the recorder parts by Michala Petri and Elizabet Selin were no doubt labors of love as well.

The earlier works feature rapid-fire jumps into and out of various registers; the later works less so. In any case the parts are difficult and superbly played. It's almost uncanny to hear the recorder in an expanded, ultra-modern tonality. Once one gets over the shock the idea that these are fine works that bear repeated hearings sets in. And from that point I was hooked.

This is not just state-of-the-art modern recorder music. It is also a collection of very pleasing high-modern chamber music.

Very much recommended.



Posted by  Grego Applegate Edwards February 3th 2014
Grego Applegate Edwards

Michala Petri, recorder
City Chamber Orchestra of Hong Kong
English Recorder Concertos
Great review on English Recorder Concertos in UK Magazine "Scene"!
Scene Magazine
22 June 2014
From the English magazine "Scene"
Early 20th century orchestral and chamber music underwent a transformative process that saw new composing methods emerge to challenge the orthodox strictures of classical masters. But at the same time the monolithic edifi ce of the Western instrumental tradition was starting to splinter, a cultural countercurrent formed. Spurred on by advances in music history, scholarship and recording technology, an effort to revive the sounds of medieval and renaissance Europe was also underway, offering up a curious aural contrast to serialism and atonality. One of the instruments to directly benefi t from this renewed interest was the recorder, which - at one time – was known as the "English fl ute". Although use of the instrument had fallen out of favor during the classical and romantic musical periods, its smoky yet remarkably robust melodic sound found fans in British composers Richard Harvey, Sir Malcolm Arnold and Gordon Jacob, three men whose works comprise the program of this recent CD release. Performed by incomparable instrumental soloist Michala Petri and the City Chamber Orchestra of Hong Kong under the direction of conductor Jean Thorel, these varied pieces demonstrate the range of once-maligned woodwind. From the dramatic opening of Harvey's Concerto Incanto through the pastoral meanderings of Jacob's Suite for Recorder and Strings, this is the music of European myth and history. Recommended.
– Chris Morgan
Scene Magazine

Michala Petri and Elisabet Selin
Axel Borup-Jørgensen (1924-2012)
Recorder music by Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Great Gramophone review on Recorder Music by Axel-Borup-Jørgensen
Gramophone Magazine
24 March 2014
Gramophone on Recorder Music by Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Gramophone Collector, New Music from Denmark. Richard Whitehouse takes the pulse of Denmark's contemporary music scene through four discs of new writing.
Although Finland has latterly made the running in terms of new music, the Danish scene has long been one of strength in diversity – confirmed by the four discs under consideration.
Only recently has the music of Axel Borup-Jørgensen (1924-2012) enjoyed wider attention. A disc of percussion works (9/14) detonate a figure of sensitivity and refinement, reinforced by this anthology of pieces for and featuring recorder on the enterprising OUR Recordings label co-founded by Michala Petri.
This is also an overview of Borup-Jørgensen's evolution over his final three decades of composing, ranging from the starkly austere interplay between recorder and harpsichord in Fantasia (1975) to a poise and eloquent melodic line in the unaccompanied Pergolato(2011) that was to be his final work. Any thought of sequencing in chronological was rightly outweighed by that of presenting the works to confirm Borup-Jørgensen's ease in his writing for tenor, treble, descant and sopranino instruments. Petri and Elisabet Selin (the composer's daughter) share the honours, with, with Ingrid Myrhøj the virtuoso harpsichordist in the tensile Zwiegespräch (Dialogue,1989) and Gert Mortensen the comparably dedicated percussionist in Periphrasis (1977) which opens the disc in combative fashion. Gramophone October 2014
Gramophone Magazine

Michala Petri and Elisabet Selin
Axel Borup-Jørgensen (1924-2012)
Recorder music by Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Great review in leading German Magazine for Chambermusic "Ensemble" on Recorder music by Axel Borup-Jørgensen!
Ensemble
24 March 2014
Review on Recorder music by Axel Borup-Jørgensen in German Magazine "Ensemble"!
Vogelkonzert
Michala Petri zwitschert und trillert fast vier minuten lang (in Track 5: "Vogelkonzert") auf einem Diskant-Blockflötchen wie ein Vögelchen: Welches Instrument Könnte das besser? Der Dane Axel Borup-Jørgensen, in Sweden aufgewachsen, in Kopenhagen ausgebildet, in Darmstadt mit Neuer Musik befasst, hat für die Meisterin und ihre einzige Privatschülerin, seine Tochter Elisabet Selin, Blockflötenstücke geschrieben, von denen acht auf dieser CD die ganze Breite seiner Kompositionskunst widerspiegeln: Die beiden spielen abwechselnd fünf Solowerke fûr unterschiedliche Blockflöten, dazu eines mit – knallig lautern! – Schlagwerk und zwei mit cembalo begleitet. In allen schmeichelt sich in tiefer Lage der warme, in höchster auch kreischen, zirpen und piepsen den Blockflötenton ins Ohr – gebändigte und losgelassene Natur! Maj 2014,- Diether Steppuhn
Ensemble

Michala Petri and Elisabet Selin
Axel Borup-Jørgensen (1924-2012)
Recorder music by Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Gramophone on "The Percussion Universe of Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Gramophone Magazine
24 March 2014

Axel Borup-Jørgensen (1924-2012) will be a name unfamiliar to many though this Danish composer left a substantial body of work and finds meaningful accommodation between mid-20th-century modernism and the aesthetic concerns of an earlier era. This disc of music for and featuring percussion touches on all the relevant bases- not least Solo(1979), where archetypal groupings of metal, skin and wood are drawn into a continuity so that differences in timbre are outweighed by similarities of texture. Much the earliest piece her, Music for Percussion and Viola (1956) yields a rhythmic uniformity its composer was later to eschew, yet the gradual coalescing of opposites in a climatic processional is no less arresting for it.
The duo percussion medium is represented by La Primavera (1982) the longest and also slowest-burning work, which, despite its fastidious blending of instruments and the visceral exchanges towards its close, is likely as much visual as aural in appeal. Not so Periphrasis (1997), in which the interplay with recorder is made meaningful through the separating of un-tuned and tuned percussion that ensures an unbroken arc of expressive intensity through to the close. An outcome no less audiable in Winter Music (1984), except the brass quintet adds Varése-like plangency to music whose ominous import is pointedly not made explicit.
Recorded with startling clarity and informatively annotated, this release is another triumph for Gert Mortensen and the formidable roster of musicians with whom he has collaborated on this project-so resulting in memorable listening experience. Richard Whitehouse, Gramophone September 2014
Gramophone Magazine

Michala Petri and Elisabet Selin
Axel Borup-Jørgensen (1924-2012)
Recorder music by Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Fantastic review in US Magazine Fanfare on Recorder Music by Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Fanfare Magazine
13 March 2014
Any idea that a disc of recorder music is going to be gentle and filled with happy pipings is instantly contradicted by the overtly Modernist drum poundings that open Periphrasis (1977, revised 1993–94), which arrive like so much thunder. It comes as no surprise to learn that Axel Borup-Jørgensen (1924–2012) attended Darmstadt, first in 1959, returning in 1962. It is scored for recorder and percussion; the percussion writing is virtuosic (as is the performance in this recording); the instruments interact with and react to the recorder's likewise virtuosic statements. If the recorder has a chalumeau register, it is this which is on display in the later parts of the piece (around seven and a half minutes in). Michala Petri, surely the world's best-known (and loved) recorder player, demonstrates not only virtuosity but a true understanding of idiom.
Elisabet Selin, a name new to me and in fact the composer's daughter (and student of Michala Petri), is clearly of an equivalent level of virtuosity and musicality. Written for solo tenor recorder, Nachtstück (1967) is an intriguing meditation. It comes as no surprise to encounter multiphonics in this music; the surprise is that they are so convincingly rendered. There are even attempts at counterpoint. The result is remarkable, and caught in a vivid recording.
The shrill monodic adventures of the solo sopranino recorder (Petri) shape Architraves (1977). The reference to birds is visceral, and quite unlike Messiaen—a sort of mid-stage between birdsong proper and what Messiaen might have done with it perhaps, or a first-step transmogrification. Whatever, it remains on the tightrope between delightful and demanding. Our avian friends return in Birds Concert (1985), where Petri is once more at her most charming.
The arrival of the harpsichord is like listening to shards of glass: This particular harpsichord is a very forceful instrument, and is recorded viscerally in Zwiegerspräch of 1988–89. Here it is the sopranino recorder of Selin that complements the harpsichord with its shrillness. At only just over five minutes, the work feels too short (although it is relentless).The Fantasia of 1975 (revised 1986–88) for sopranino recorder (Selin) and harpsichord is the longest piece on the disc. The stamina of the players is truly remarkable, perhaps mostly in terms of sheer concentration. The intensity does not flag for a second. The solo recorder flights are remarkable in their inspiration; the harpsichord's antics are hardly less impressive. The ending is cheeky and teasing.
Written in 2011, Pergolato is for treble recorder, a five-minute lament delivered eloquently by Petri. The Notenbüchlein (as it is given on the back cover; in the notes it is Notenbüchlein für Anna Elisabeth) of 1977–78 is an exploratory piece whose solo melody (Selin), while not quite as melancholic as Pergolato, nevertheless speaks of questing, of searching.
A remarkable disc, stunningly performed and well recorded. Colin Clarke, Fanfare May/June issue 2014

Fanfare Magazine

Michala Petri and Elisabet Selin
Axel Borup-Jørgensen (1924-2012)
Recorder music by Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Overwhelming review on Recorder Music by Axel Borup-Jørgensen in Klassik Heute
Klassik Heute Magazine
06 March 2014
Klassik Heute
Recorder Music by Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Wertung: 10 / 10 / 10


Der dänische Komponist und Pianist Axel Borup-Jørgensen (1924-2012) war einer der großen, stillen Individualisten Skandinaviens im 20. Jahrhundert. In Dänemark geboren und in Schweden aufgewachsen, erhielt er seine Ausbildung an der Königlichen Musikakademie in Kopenhagen. Obwohl als Komponist weitgehend Autodidakt, zählte er 1959 zu den ersten dänischen Komponisten, die die Darmstädter Ferienkurse für Neue Musik besuchten. Wolfgang Fortner ermutigte den jungen Musiker, den eingeschlagenen Weg fortzusetzen. Ohne Zweifel übte die Avantgarde der Sechzigerjahre einen starken Einfluss auf Borup-Jørgensens Klangwelt aus, jedoch komponierte er nie streng seriell, sondern ließ sich in seiner kompositorischen Arbeit stets von Intuition und seinem außerordentlichen Klangsinn leiten. Borup-Jørgensens handschriftliche Partituren von geradezu kalligraphischer Qualität und Schönheit verraten den ausgesprochenen Klang-Tüftler und Magier der Farben. Seine Musik kennt feinste melodische Verästelungen ebenso wie zupackende, dramatische Eruptionen, so etwa in seinem orchestralen Hauptwerk Marin (1970) oder Musica autumnalis (1977). Der weit überwiegende Teil seines Schaffens ist der Kammermusik gewidmet. Hier genoss er die Freiheit und Inspiration, eng mit seinen Interpreten zusammenzuarbeiten und neue klangliche Möglichkeiten der Instrumente erforschen und erproben zu können.
Dass die Blockflöte in Axel Borup-Jørgensens Werkliste eine nicht unwesentliche Stellung einnimmt, verdanken wir seiner Begegnung (und lebenslangen Freundschaft) mit der dänischen Blockflötenvirtuosin Michala Petri und seiner Tochter Elisabet Selin, für die er zahlreiche anspruchsvolle Kompositionen geschaffen hat.
Diese ausgesprochen sorgfältig edierte, musikalisch, klanglich und nicht zuletzt auch optisch exzellente Produktion seiner (fast kompletten) Blockflötenmusik beleuchtet einen Zeitraum von fast dreißig Jahren – von seinen ersten Versuchen mit dem Instrument Mitte der Siebziger Jahre bis hin zu Pergolato, der etwas mehr als ein Jahr vor seinem Tod entstandenen letzten Komposition des damals 86-Jährigen.
Authentischer und kompetenter könnte die Wiedergabe nicht sein: Eben jene Spielerinnen, die sein Interesse am Instrument geweckt hatten und mit denen er in der Folge auf das Engste zusammenarbeitete, sind auf der Aufnahme zu hören. Borup-Jørgensens auffallende Affinität zu den hohen Instrumenten der Blockflötenfamilie und ihrem der Frauenstimme ähnlichen wie auch dem Vogelgesang verwandten Klang macht es nicht leicht, die Werke dramaturgisch so geschickt und abwechslungsreich anzuordnen wie man es etwa von einem Konzertprogramm erwarten würde. Die CD ist offensichtlich auch eher „enzyklopädisch" gedacht – als Referenzsammlung seiner Blockflötenwerke.
Periphrasis (1977 ursprünglich für Flöte und Schlagzeug komponiert und in den Neunziger Jahren für Blockflöte adaptiert) firmiert als fulminanter Auftakt. Im dialogischen Spiel fungiert die Blockflöte häufig als ruhender Pol im faszinierenden Klangfarbenkaleidoskop des Perkussionsappartes, der subtil mit den vier wechselnden Blockflöten (von Sopranino bis Tenor) interagiert. In welchem Maße sich Borup-Jørgensen in die Idiomatik des Instrumentes eingehört und –gedacht hat, zeigt sich vor allem im für seine Tochter komponierten Tenorflöten-Monolog Nachtstück aus dem Jahr 1987. Hier schafft er einen eigenen Kosmos von äußerster Expressivität der feinen Zwischentöne, der sich aus der Stille ganz allmählich geräuschhaft vortastend zu einer dramatischen Klimax mit blockhaften Akkordklängen steigert, um letztlich zu verstummen. Für mich vielleicht die unmittelbarste und auch formal geschlossenste Komposition der CD. Elisabet Selin realisiert hier nicht allein akribisch die detaillierten Farbnuancierungen der Partitur, sondern gestaltet den Spannungsbogen so zwingend souverän und von einer dramatischen Intensität wie man sie selten hört. Der einzigartige, unverwechselbare Ton Michala Petris prägt Architraves, ein hypnotisches  Solostück für Sopraninoblockflöte. Das über ein Jahrzehnt später entstandene konzise Zwiegespräch knüpft klanglich daran an, erweitert aber die Besetzung mit dem silbrig-hellen Klang des Cembalos und kontrastiert die hohe Blockflöte mit sonoren, koloristischen Clustertexturen. Mitte der Neunziger Jahre entstand Birds Concert für Sopranblockflöte, das u.a. mit verschiedenen Trillern, Vorschlagsnoten und Flatterzungenspiel eine (jahrhundertelange) Tradition von Vogelmusik für das Instrument fortführt. Die 1975 komponierte Fantasia war das erste Werk Borup-Jørgensens, in dem er sich professionell mit der Blockflöte befasste und Ausgangspunkt einer kreativen Entdeckungsreise, die bis zum Ende seines Schaffens anhalten sollte. Wie Zwiegespräch für die Kombination von Sopranino und Cembalo konzipiert (und wie im ersten Falle von Elisabet Selin und ihrer Mutter Ingrid Myrhøj interpretiert), erzeugt das Stück von Beginn an eine gänzlich eigene, mysteriös-gespenstische Klangwelt von großer atmosphärischer Dichte. Der Kreis von Borup-Jørgensens kompositorischem Œuvre schließt sich in Pergolato mit dem weichen, milden Klang der Altblockflöte. Das für seine früheren Stücke so charakteristische hypnotisierende Kreisen, die dramatischen, raumgreifenden Intervallsprünge und abrupten Registerwechsel weichen in Pergolato meditativer Ruhe und lyrischer Melancholie. Wie in einer posthumen Verneigung vor dem großen Künstler und Freund strahlt Michala Petris Spiel hier besondere Würde und Demut aus. Das die CD beschließende Notenbüchlein für Sopranblockflöte solo (1977-79 für seine Tochter Elisabet Selin entstanden und hier auch von ihr gespielt) fasst in Form einer Suite von Miniaturstücken noch einmal kurios die charakteristischen Merkmale von Borup-Jørgensens Blockflötenmusik zusammen. 
OUR Recordings hat mit dieser Produktion (wieder einmal) Maßstäbe gesetzt. Gewiss, Borup-Jørgensens Musik ist keine „leichte Kost", aber sie ist ein gewichtiger Meilenstein der Blockflötenmusik des 20. Jahrhunderts – eine Musik von höchster Individualität und Geradlinigkeit, der man sich nur schwer entziehen kann.

Heinz Braun
(04.03.2014)

Klassik Heute Magazine

Michala Petri and Lars Hannibal
Virtuoso Baroque
Wonderful review in UK Magazine for OLD Music -The Consort -on Virtuoso Baroque
The Consort
06 March 2014
The Consort, UK

The recorder has an ancient and honourable history. Bone flutes survive from Neanderthal context, and a wonderfully preserved set of six flutes from Jiahu in China, some 9.000 years old and made from hollowed wing-bones of the red-crowned crane – each with seven holes carefully tuned to a scale remarkably similar to our Western 8-nate scale – might almost be considered the earliest prototype of the recorder consort.
This recording celebrates Michala's twenty-year collaboration with the distinguished archlutenist Lars Hannibal,- a remarkable achievement. The CD begins with Vitali's Chaconne in G minor, originally composed for the violin, and first brought to the attention of the modern world by the virtuoso violinist and friend of Mendelsohn, Ferdinand David. In his hands the piece was transformed into so improbably romantic a work that its authenticity was in doubt until recently, but it appearance in a Dresden manuscript dating from before 1730 confirms the the work is by Tomaso Vitali (or Vitalino): his imaginative divisions and sometimes surprising harmonic adventures provide us with a captivating introduction to Michala Petri´s programme.
It continues in more conventional recorder territory, with the Sonata in D minor taken from the set of 12 published by Telemann in Der Getreuer Musikmeister; with its gentle opening Affetuoso and joyful final gigue, Telemann provides plenty of scope for the archlute to contribute creatively, especially in the sonata's quierter moments.
Bach's enchanting flute sonata BWV 1033, originally written in C major for traverse flute, is here transposed to F major, and works delightfully well on the recorder; Petri makes light of the usual problem with bachs woodwind music, in that being himself a keyboard player he tends to forget thatthe flautist has occasionally to breathe. This sonata comes downto us in six early manuscripts, including one from 1731 in the handwriting of Bach's son, Carl Philipp Emanuel who, some scolars believe, may have collaborated in the composition of this work.
This is followed by the Sonata in G major RV 58 from Il Pastor Fido, which comes with its own problems of authorship. For more than 200 years the music was attributed to Antonio Vivaldi, but Il Pastor Fido turns out to have been a elaborate forgery on the part Nicalos Chédeville (1705-82), who wishes to give the greater credibility which the more famous composer would afford, to his own efforts. He needn't have worried, his accomplished pieces delightfully evoke the arcadian world of the Amusements Champétres so beloved of the early 18th – century French aristocracy, and Petri here enters perfectly into their pastoral spirit with her sopranino and tenor recorders.
La Folia was a favourite melody throughout Italy, Spain and Portugal, attracting thew imagination of composers as early as 1500s, and the creativity of Lully, Vivaldi and Bach, among many other masters, but Arcangelo Corelli made the piece his own, and his set of 24 variations on the theme, op 5 no 12, originally written for violin, was appropriated by players of many other instruments; the present version for recorder was published in London 1702.
Guiseppe Tartini's Sonata in G minor, Trillo del Diavolo ("The Devil's trill") the composers most famous work, was suppressed during his lifetime, and even the story behind its composition an attempt by Tartini to capture the music played to him in a dream by Satan himself – was not published until after the composer's death. Although only a shadow of what he said he had heard, Tartini considered this work "indeed the best that ever I wrote",- and Michala Petri's sopranino recorder version is an astonishing tour de force.
With Handel's Sonata in B flat major HWV 377, we return to the recorder's more familiar terrain; although this manuscript, from the Fitzwilliam Museum in Cambridge, does not specify instrumentation – and Handel recycled the sonata's three movements in various other directions,- the work lies naturally within the recorder's range, and it has long been embraced by players of the instrument.
This engaging programme explores repertoire far beyond the regions normally inhabited by the baroque recorder, and Michala Petri's fine playing is so sensitively supported by the creative accompaniment of Lars Hannibal that my only regret is that room has not been found on this CD for some solo music for his archlute. Maybe next time? And perhaps, next time a note or two about the players themselves , to go with the excellent information on the music. Margareth Rees, June 2012
The Consort

Michala Petri, recorder
Anthony Newman, harpsichord
Telemann 4 2
Complete Recorder Sonatas
Review in Daily Classical Review on Telemann for Two
Daily Classical Music
06 March 2014
Handel was only sixteen when he first met Telemann. They remained in touch, and Handel later sent him from London a selection of rare plants. Telemann was godfather to Bach's second son and wrote a fine poem after Johann Sebastian's death. Since then Telemann's reputation has wavered. Here he sounds an occasionally plangent note, but for the most part is content to be playful and skittish. The result is delectable listening. The first sonata from 'The Trusty Music master' starts with the sort of fireworks Telemann could let off almost without thinking.
It is a major pleasure, as it were, when Telemann decides to languish into the minor. His F minor sonata in the same set begins 'Triste', and the mood is maintained throughout the third-movement Andante. This gives Michala Petri, who has demonstrated already a formidable technique in dazzling passagework, the chance to show how expressively she can also play.
I can only think back ruefully to my own recorder-playing days, inspired all those years ago by the comparatively modest performances of the Dolmetsch family.
Telemann remains a little mournful in the first of his 'Music Study' sonatas, even when proceeding at speed. I now began to wonder whether the balance between recorder and Anthony Newman's harpsichord was not tilted too much towards the former. A cello to reinforce the bass line would have been appropriate and helpful.
I can but admire, however, the remarkable variety of tone Michala Petri obtains from her instrument, as also the dynamic range. There is not the slightest hint of monotony.
It is joyous to end with the sheer virtuosity of the final Vivace on the CD, in which Telemann throws down the gauntlet of a fearsome technical challenge. The performance is indeed triumphant.
It is worth adding a word of commendation for the admirable liner notes of Joshua Cheek. For once I felt no need to surround myself with a pile of reference books, and basked happily in the midst of much apposite writing. I agree that 'Ehrenpforte' means 'Triumphal Arch', but in context 'Roll of Honour' might just be preferable. I greatly appreciated the title to his piece: 'A Telemann for All Seasons'. I could not ask more. Robert Anderson February 2014
Daily Classical Music

Michala Petri and Elisabet Selin
Axel Borup-Jørgensen (1924-2012)
Recorder music by Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Great Gapplegate review on Recorder Music by Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Gapplegate
12 February 2014
Gapplegate Classical-Modern Music Review
Modern classical and avant garde concert music of the 20th and 21st centuries forms the primary focus of this blog. It is hoped that through the discussions a picture will emerge of modern music, its heritage, and what it means for us.

Up until now when I thought of recorders, I thought of the baroque and early music periods and the sound one hears in such contexts. It never occurred to me that the high modern arena would utilize the family of instruments and I cannot recall having heard such a thing.
But all that is in the past now that I have immersed myself in Axel Borup-Jorgensen's CD Recorder Music (OUR Recordings 8.226910). We are treated to eight compositions for various-sized recorders--alone, with harpsichord or with percussion. No less than seven of these works are enjoying their world premier recordings on this disk.
The recorder performances are in the hands of Michala Petri and Elisabet Selin, and they are impressive exponents indeed. Ingrid Myrhoj appears on harpsichord for two pieces; Gert Mortensen plays the multiple percussion instrument part on the one work involved. Everyone sounds great but it is the expanded recorder techniques and the clarity, dynamic thrust and elan of their execution that bring it all together.
Alex Borup-Jorgensen (1924-2012) wrote these works between 1975 and 2011. That they were a labor of love seems clear as you listen. The mastering of the recorder parts by Michala Petri and Elisabet Selin were no doubt labors of love as well.
The earlier works feature rapid-fire jumps into and out of various registers; the later works less so. In any case the parts are difficult and superbly played. It's almost uncanny to hear the recorder in an expanded, ultra-modern tonality. Once one gets over the shock the idea that these are fine works that bear repeated hearings sets in. And from that point I was hooked.
This is not just state-of-the-art modern recorder music. It is also a collection of very pleasing high-modern chamber music.
Very much recommended.
Grego Applegate Edwards, February 3th 2014

Gapplegate

Michala Petri and Lars Hannibal
Virtuoso Baroque
Fantastic review on The Nightingale and Virtuoso Baroque in Sächische Zeitung!
Sächische Zeitung
03 February 2014
Sächische Zeitung ( Reichweite 710.000)

Grenzlos nah am Geschehen

Für die dänische Flötistin Michala Petri scheint nichts unmöglich. Jetz singt sie wie eine Nachtingall, und die klangtechnik brilliert dazu.

Wenn Michala Petri auftritt, dann lässt sie meist in irgendeiner Weise aufhoren. Da ist keine spur von Gewöhnung und Poutine – und dies, obwohl die Dänin ein Instrument spielt, bei dem mancher gähnend abwinkt: Blockflöte. Die scheinbar endlos wiederkehrenden Muster einer barocken Chaconne von Tomaso Antonio Vitali ermüden sie und auch den Hörer nicht. Viel zu ansteckend ist die Neugier, mit der sie die melodischen Variationen erobert. Seit 20 Jahren musiziert Michala Petri in Duo mit dem Lautenisten Lars Hannibal. Ihre Jubiläums – CD "Virtuoso Baroque" vereint Raritäten mit wohlbekanntem Sonatenwerk- Aber auch Bach, Händel und Telemann klingen hier so unverbraucht und rein, als seien die edlen Schätze gerade erst entdeckt worden.
"Ach Gott, wie ist das schön!", seufzte der Fischer, al ser vom Uferwald her jene Nachtingall singen hörte, die spatter den Kaiser von China zu Tränen rühren sollte. Der ausgefeilte Gesang der Nachtingall muss jeden faszinieren, der ihn hören kann. Keinen Ersatz, wohl aber neuen Anlass, vor Ergriffenheit zu seufzen, bietet Ugis Praulins, der Hans Christian Andersens Märchen aufgegriffen und in packend lautmalerischer Art für Flöte und Choir vertont hat. Der litausche Komponist ehrt darin die Nachtingall des Dänen mit ¨bersinnlichen Charakterzeichnungen und fordert dabei den Interpreten einiges ab. Keinerlei Mühe, vielmehr höchste Genugtung verspürt man bei Michala Petri und dem Danish National Vocal Ensemble unter Stewphen Layton. Sie haben "The Nightingale" und zudem drei weitere Werke erstmal eingespielt: "Nemesis divina" des Schweden Daniel Börtz, "I" vom Dänen Sunleif Rasmussen sowie "2 scenes with Skylark" des D¨nen Peter Bruun. Es sind faszinierende Schlaglichter nordischer Musik der letzen fünf Jahre. Singstemmen und Flöte finden dabei in unterschiedlichsten Klanglandschaften und Ausdruckbereichen organisch zusammen.
Die beiden SACDs bieten nicht nur künstlirischen Hochgenuss. Wann die heimische Wiedergabetechnich auf den Prüfstand dtellen, wenn nicht hier? Vor allem kann man fragen, auf welchem teller sich diese Tönträger zu drehen und welcher Wandler ihre Signale aus der digitalen zurück in die analoge Welt holen sollte, um das Optimum an Klangkvalität herauszuholen. Denn das hier verwendete DXD-Format (=Digital eXtreme Definition) bedeutet unvorstellbar viel Information: die achtfache Zahl an Signalabtastungen sowie 256-mal feiner aufgelöste Messwerte gegenüber der herkömmlichen CD. Zuhören lohnt sich. So nah eie an dem, was Michala Petri, Lars Hannibal und die singenden Dänen gezaubert haben, war Digital Audio nur selten am geschehen. "Virtuoso Baroque", "The Nightingale", Michala Petri, Lars Hannibal, Danish National Vocal Ensemble, Stephen Layton. (OUR Recordings).
Karsten Blüthgen 18.01.2012
Sächische Zeitung

Michala Petri and Lars Hannibal
Virtuoso Baroque
Great review of Virtuoso Baroque in Classical Guitar Magazine,- UK
Classical Guitar Magazine
03 February 2014
Classical Guitar Magazine, UK

It's somewhat immodest title, but long before Vitali's action-packed Chaconne has run its 9:54, course it becomes abundantly clear that Petri and Hannibal, whose two decades as a team this recording celebrates, are much to be immodest about. Having, by accident of birth, been raised in a neck of the woods where recorder-centred chamber gatherings featured the indefatigable John Turner are a frequent occurrence. I've been fully aware since preadolescence that there's much more to this instrument than battalions of seven-year-olds squeaking their way through Bobby Shaftoe.
But even so, I could hardly fail to be wowed by the sheer brilliance displayed by Michala Petri in the Vitali and elsewhere. And although Lars Hannibal's role is, by nature of his chosen instrument, that of accompanist, the range of textures emerging from a magnificent Paul Thomson archlute he proudly brandishes on the cover is extraordinary. For every routine series of block chord backdrops, there's a full-on active bass-line of the type Hannibal provides for the much of the central Allegro in The Devil's Trill.
Here and elsewhere, the duo treads a mostly familiar path, the greater part of the material being drawn from flute and fiddle sources. The notable exception is RV 59 which, according to Joshua Cheek's extensive programme notes, forms part of an elaborate hoax perpetrated by Nicolas Chédeville (1705-1782), whose agenda was to borrow the name of a big-hitting composer in order to give greater kudos to a series of sonatas he'd written for his own instrument, which was the musette. Given that the musette had by that time become little more than what Cheek terms "an exotic novelty", few would now blame Chédeville for doing what he allegedly did. And RV 59 is a wonderfully engaging baroque middleweight, whoever wrote it. Are there any musette recordings out there?
But until someone answers the above question, this classy and uplifting release from Petri and Hannibal ticks all the boxes.
Paul Fowles, April 2012
Classical Guitar Magazine

Michala Petri and Elisabet Selin
Axel Borup-Jørgensen (1924-2012)
Recorder music by Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Enthusiastic review on Recorder Music by Axel Borup-Jørgensen in The Classical Reviewer
The Classical Reviewer
02 February 2014
The Classical Reviewer Sunday, 19 January 2014
Works for recorder, harpsichord and percussion by Axel Borup-Jørgensen on an attractive release from OUR Recordings
Axel Borup-Jørgensen (1924-2012) www.borup-jorgensen.dk was born in Denmark but grew up in Sweden. He studied piano at the Royal Danish Academy of Music and orchestration with Poul Schierbeck and Jorgen Jersild. He was one of the first Danish composers to attend Darmstadt school, but he has never composed serial music.
Axel Borup-Jørgensen's music is characterized by his Swedish upbringing, and among his works feature Swedish poetry and the Swedish landscape. His large output of compositions includes music for orchestra, chamber music, songs with piano and other instruments. Prominent amongst his works are compositions for percussion and guitar. Axel Borup-Jørgensen was a seminal figure in contemporary Danish musical life and the recipient of a number of the country's most distinguished awards, including the Carl Nielsen Prize and the Wilhelm Hansen Prize. 

He considered himself a self-taught composer; while being thoroughly 'modern' in outlook; his music is organic, expressionist, always embracing the sheer sensual beauty of the musical tone.

A new release from OUR Recordings www.ourrecordings.com presents Borup-Jørgensen's complete works for recorder; a chronicle of a thirty year relationship that began when his daughter, Elisabet Selin became Michala Petri's first and only private student. This recording is unique in that the artists featured, Michala Petri www.michalapetri.com  and Elisabet  Selin (recorders), Ingrid Myrhoj (harpsichord) and Gert Mortensen (percussion) www.gertmortensen.com are those for whom these works were originally composed, their interpretations, therefore being both personal and authoritative.

Drum rolls open Periphrasis, Op.156 (1977, rev. 1993-94) for recorder and percussion behind which the low sound of a recorder hovers. Other percussion adds to the texture before the recorder plays a staccato theme that jumps around, high in the register. As the recorder dances around the percussion, various textures and colours are created. Despite the outwardly fragmented sounds, the recorder maintains an underlying melodic line that is most attractive. Later the music slows in a delicate passage with quiet thoughtful phrases leading to a hushed end. Overall this is a real musical achievement, wonderfully played by for Michala Petri and Gert Mortensen.

Nachtstuck, Op. 118:1 (1987) for tenor recorder opens with what sounds like light drum taps but which are actually recorder sounds made by an unusual technique. The recorder tentatively introduces a theme, quiet and mournful, with little upward phrases and more, odd breathing effects from the recorder that sound like snare drum.  More textures are drawn from the recorder in this challenging example of recorder technique brilliantly realised by Elisabet Selin. Louder phrases appear, darting around before strange dissonant multitones conjure up a nightmarish nocturnal atmosphere as the music slowly find its way to a quiet coda.

Architraves, Op.83 (1977) for sopranino recorder solo brings a joyful motif that dances around. Axel Borup-Jørgensen has a way of creating a kind of lyricism from seemingly abstract, even fragmented ideas. Michala Petri is terrific here, with fine precision in the sharp staccato notes that often seem to imitate bird sounds. A terrific work.

There is a vibrant opening for recorder and harpsichord in Zwiegespräch, Op. 131 (1988-89) for sopranino recorder and harpsichord with Borup-Jørgensen again drawing a lyrical line from fragmented motifs and varied intervals. It is strange how well these instruments sound together, taking our perception of them as baroque instruments and creating a modern language for them. Both have a kind of dialogue, the harpsichord with short, clipped phrases and the recorder more melodic and flowing. There is much fine playing from Elisabet Selin and Ingrid Myrhøj.

Bird song again appears in Birds Concert, Op.91:9 (1995) for descant recorder solo, but it is longer drawn phrases that open the work, before little bird like motifs appear. The longer phrases return but are slowly overtaken by the bird trills in this wonderfully effective piece so well played by Michala Petri, for whom it was written.

Elisabet Selin and Ingrid Myrhøj return for the Fantasia, Op.75 (1975, rev. 1986-88) for sopranino recorder and harpsichord. The sopranino recorder maintains a melodic line over the fragmented chords of the harpsichord and, as the work progresses, the harpsichord develops intricate, ever changing sounds whilst the recorder continues its melodic flow with some wonderfully fluent playing from Selin. Towards the end, the recorder holds an incredibly long note against the harpsichord before weaving its way to the coda.

The mellow sound of the treble recorder comes as a contrast in Pergolato, Op.183 (2011) for treble recorder solo with Michala Petri playing a mellifluous melody. There are no unusual recorder techniques here, the recorder really sings in Petri's hands. Repeated melodic phrases do not outstay their welcome as the music flows to its gentle coda.

Birdsong again seems to immerse itself into Notenbüchlein, Op.82 (1977-79) for descant recorder solo. It is hard not to become immersed oneself in this attractive music where Borup-Jørgensen's playful little bird trills are so lovely. A beautifully written piece, exquisitely played by Elisabet Selin.

This attractive and worthwhile release is an excellent memorial to Axel Borup-Jørgensen and his exploration of the recorder. Well recorded on various dates and at various venues, there are informative booklet notes by the composer and Jens Brincker.

The Classical Reviewer

Michala Petri, recorder
Lan Shui, conductor
Chinese Recorder Concertos
East Meets West
Chinese Recorder Concertos listed on January CDHotlist in US
26 January 2014
New

Comments:
 
This is the third installment in the series Dialogue -- East Meets West, which recorder virtuoso Michala Petri inaugurated with her husband on their own record label to facilitate musical exchanges between China and the West. This disc features four recorder concertos by Chinese, Chinese-American, and Taiwanese composers with Petri as soloist. The playing is thrilling; the pieces themselves are all very good, with varying levels of chromaticism and varying blends of European and Asian melodic influences. Petri's recorder is, as always, a joy to hear. (RA)


Michala Petri, recorder
Lan Shui, conductor
Chinese Recorder Concertos
East Meets West
Classicalcdreview.com on Chinese Recorder Concertos
Classicalcdreview.com
26 January 2014
Michala Petri (b. 1958) began playing the recorder when only three years old and went on to become the world's leading performer on the instrument. Her numerous recordings of standard repertory were staples for collectors decades ago and many are still in the catalog. She also has a keen interest in contemporary music and has commissioned many works. This splendid Da Capo issue offers music by four contemporary Chinese composers. These are not miniatures; they are substantial evocative showpieces for soloist and orchestra. Tang Jianping (b. 1955) wrote his three-movement Flying Song for the Chinese dizi (bamboo flute) accompanied by a Pan-Asian ensemble, heard here in a version with western orchestra. China's best-known composer, Bright Sheng (1955), wrote his Flute Moon on a commission from the Houston Symphony which gave the premiere in 1999 with Christopher Eschenbach on the podium. This music was inspired by Chi Lin, the Chinese unicorn also known as the "dragon horse." The two movements (Chi Lin's Dance/Flute Moon) are a virtuoso display for the solo piccolo which is often accompanied by dynamic percussive orchestral outbursts. Ma Sui-long (b. 1939) wrote his best-known composition for the Chinese dizi (bamboo flute), an instrument with a rather piercing sound because of an extra hole covered with a membrane. The music successfully fuses eastern and western music. Chen Yi (b. 1953) was the first woman in China to receive a master's degree in composition. Since then, she has received many awards both for her music and her teaching. The Ancient Chinese Beautyhas three movements inspired by ancient Chinese totems and clay figurines written to showcase Petri's instruments. It was premiered in April 2008 in Beijing to celebrate the 60th anniversary of diplomatic relations between Denmark and the People's Republic of China. All of these performances were recorded in Copenhagen's Royal Danish Academy of Music in April 2010 and must be considered definitive. Audio quality is outstanding. A terrific release!
Classicalcdreview.com

Michala Petri, recorder
Lan Shui, conductor
Chinese Recorder Concertos
East Meets West
Excellent review in US Magazine Fanfare on Cafe Vienna
Fanfare Magazine
23 November 2013
GIULIANI Gran duetto concertante. CARULLI Fantaisie sur un air national anglais. KüFFNER Potpourri sur des airs nationaux français. BEETHOVEN Sonatinas: in c; in C. KRäHMER Introduction, Theme, and Variations. MAYSEDER Potpourri on Themes of Beethoven and Rossini. SCHEINDIENST Variations on an Austrian Folk Tune.


Café Vienna
Audio CD; Hybrid SACD - DSD
Our Recordings
This likeable disc of guitar and recorder duets presents the sort of light classical music that might have been heard in a coffee house in early-19th-century Vienna. Potpourris and variations abound, along with a general air of high-spirited fun alternating with an occasional sentimental melody. Even Beethoven is in an unbuttoned mood in his Sonatina in C (originally for mandolin and recorder, as is its discmate), although the Sonatina in C Minor is not so cheery. Still, it's hardly a heavy or portentous statement. Giuliani's Gran duetto concertante, not unexpectedly, introduces some Italianate warmth, and Carulli converts God Save the King (the Air national anglais of his Fantaisie) into a lyrical, even happy hybrid of English and Italian style. The recital is primarily Petri's show, although Hannibal plays with flair whenever he's given the opportunity; otherwise, he's pretty much restricted to simple accompaniments. Petri, of course, is the reigning diva of recorder music, and it's always a pleasure to hear her display her effortless virtuosity. Overall, this is a charming recital that introduces listeners to some composers whose light has faded over the years, and the Beethoven is far from a repertoire staple. Production values are consistent with the other Our Recordings releases I've seen: informative notes in a well-designed booklet, clear and present recording, and sturdy cardboard packaging that dispenses with the plastic jewel-box format. Robert Schulslaper

This article originally appeared in Issue 33:4 (Mar/Apr 2010) of Fanfare Magazine.
Fanfare Magazine
  OUR Recordings
Esromgade 15, opg. 1, 3rd floor, room 15
2200 Copenhagen N
Denmark
Tel: +45 4015 05 77
E-mail: hannibal@michalapetri.com
QUICK LINKS
NEWS
CONCERT SCHEDULE
BIOGRAPHY
DISCOGRAPHY
PROJECTS
COLLABORATORS
REVIEWS
GALLERIES
  AWARDS & NOMINATIONS
COMMISSIONS & PREMIERES
GUESTBOOK
CONTACT

OUR RECORDINGS WEBSITE
LARS HANNIBAL'S WEBSITE

 

 
 

Home | Contact | Copyright OUR Recordings 2002 - 2019. All rights reserved. | OUR Recordings' Official Website | Lars Hannibal's Official Website