concert reviews / interviews
New interview with Michala Petri in US Music Magazine Fanfare
James Reel, Fanfare Magazine
29 January 2015
Major classical labels may be in decline, but the CD business is booming for individual artists (and orchestras) operating their own labels. These aren't just minor players funding small-scale vanity products, but major performers taking chances that would not be possible in the current major-label environment. Recorder soloist Michala Petri (she pronounces her first name MEE-ca-la, by the way) and her frequent recital partner, guitarist/lutenist Lars Hannibal, have launched their own label, called OUR Recordings. The name could hardly be more specific about their emphasis. Each of the releases features one or both of the label's principals; some are collaborations between Hannibal and his other longtime recital partner, violinist Kim Sjøgren (together they appear as Duo Concertante).

There's something at least a little unusual about each disc. The most "ordinary" among them is a collection of not exactly obscure but certainly not over-recorded works for violin and guitar by Mauro Giuliani, recorded back in 1988 (8.226904). A fairly mainstream disc with a twist contains the Mozart Flute Quartets, reworked for recorder (Petri) and strings on a lovely sounding SACD (6.220570). Even better known music arrives in an unexpectedly small package: Lalo's Symphonie espagnole and Norwegian Fantasy in versions for violin and guitar that work surprisingly well (8.226903). There's a steamy Latin-tinged collection of duos for Petri and Hannibal called "Siesta" (8.226900), and two contemporary collections: works for recorder and orchestra by Joan Albert Amargós, Daniel Börtz, and Steven Stucky ("Movements," 6.220531); and violin-guitar duos by Palle Mikkelborg, Herman D. Koppel, Jørgen Jersild, and Vagn Holmboe ("Journey," 8.226902). Finally (for now), Hannibal accompanies bamboo flutist (or xiao player) Chen Yue in a program of traditional pieces from around the world ("Spirits," 8.226901), which comes with a DVD as well as a CD. Arriving soon will be Hannibal's traversal of Castelnuovo-Tedesco's Platero y yo , with Danish narration, and a collection of Chinese and Danish duets for bamboo flute and recorder.

I e-mailed Petri some questions about her label, which she managed to answer quite fully between stops on the concert circuit.

          You've had what appears to have been great success with Philips and BMG in the past. Why is this the time for you to go your own way with your own label?

I have had wonderful years with working both with Philips and RCA/BMG, and have through them been fortunate to work with many great musicians, orchestras, and composers. To this it must be added the friendships made with some of the people working at the labels, some of whom I am still close friends with. Working in music is not just work—you are one big family, with the family feeling that comes with it towards all involved in the working process.

However, the situation in the recording industry has changed radically in recent years, and the companies are now more concerned about what will sell in large numbers more quickly than before, so it is not easy to get enthusiastic support to record, for instance, contemporary music, or music that has not already proven itself to sell well. I somehow think that the marketing approaches of many of the big labels have become opposed to the nature of music, which is to bring out and inspire individuality in the listener as well as the performer. Also it is different today from 15 years ago in that everybody can now connect immediately via the Internet, so I think that people's "cultural" needs tend to be more targeted to what will suit them individually, rather than having a "consumer product" which in some ways has acted also as a uniting factor between people, which is now taken care of in other ways.

In having our own label I am able to continue and expand the way I think in my life and career, where I have always tried to be a pioneer for my instrument, and to promote individuality. We have the freedom to decide what we want to do—or follow what we feel is right—to record. The consideration (and challenge) is of course to find the money to finance the recordings, but as a small company we have better chances to keep the cost low, and I also believe in the "togetherness" of things—and feel somehow confident that if I follow my intuition rather than calculations of corporate accountants, the practical side will ultimately take care of itself. But then I am also good at not setting unrealistic goals, of course!

          What does OUR signify? Is it more than the plural possessive in English?

We have chosen the name OUR Recordings with a little tongue in cheek hint to the big companies and their consumer-driven way of thinking, indicating that we personally stand up for the content, more than merely focusing on wanting to sell a lot of CDs. We only release recordings where either Hannibal or I, or both of us, are involved as musicians. We have been asked by several musicians if we could release their recordings, but since we are musicians first of all, and it is very time consuming to have your own label, we have chosen to limit ourselves to this singular focus.

          How do you divide or share the various duties of operating the label?

Hannibal is very much the creative force who gets the ideas in the first place, and carries them through, where I more like to get lost in the music! Hannibal is doing all the label work, but we discuss all issues, and inspire and balance each other's ideas, much the same way as when we are performing together. I am also involved in the cover-art decisions, both graphic and booklet notes, and we have a graphic designer who is also a partner in OUR Recordings! And we are fortunate to have partners in China and the U.S. who are extremely wise, nice, and helpful co-operators; for us it is just as important to be on the same wavelength with co-workers in this as with fellow-musicians when we perform.

          Do you personally have direct control over every element?

We are both involved in all major decisions, such as the label profile, and in smaller things, like deciding which of our many projects shall be the next! On the musical side I am also getting increasingly involved in the editing process with the producers. I have been working with so many top producers in my career, which has given me some knowledge, although I know my limits. I find the interplay between my ears and the producer's suggestions and experience very inspiring. As a musician you are the one who knows what you want, what you have been feeling when studying the music, and sometimes you are the only one that hears the microscopic details that make the difference!

          You have been associated with Lars Hannibal for many years, and he has known and performed with Kim Sjøgren for a very long time. The three of you are the core artists on the first seven discs, with the addition of Chen Yue on "Spirits." Will the label continue to focus on the work of the three of you? Do you anticipate showcasing many guest artists like Chen Yue?

The focus of the label is just that the two of us, Hannibal and myself, are in one way or another involved musically—apart from that we have no borders. This thinking is in line with my constant attempt not to have any limits on my possibilities! Which is not the same as being uncritical—rather the opposite, since having no borders forces you to think hard in every case if this is really the right thing to do. The three recordings where Hannibal plays with Kim Sjøgren are all re-releases, having only been available in Denmark before. I personally have always loved those CDs very much, because of the sense of true musicianship they radiate, as well as the example they set in showing how transcriptions can attain a high level of artistic quality. If Hannibal and Kim will record again in the future, it would be obvious to have the recordings released on OUR Recordings. The recording of "Spirits" with Hannibal and the Chinese xiao virtuoso Chen Yue is only the first release with her. The next release on OUR Recordings will be a program of 10 duets composed especially for this project especially for Chen Yue and me by five young Chinese composers and five young Danish composers.

          You seem to be avoiding re-recording works you've recorded before. Do you anticipate revisiting any works you recorded years ago, or are you striving to issue only music that is new to your discography?

I would love to re-record some of the standard repertoire at some point. However, before that there are so many new things to record, especially repertoire which has not been recorded before, and which very much deserves to be better known. There are some new pieces for recorder and full symphony orchestra that work very well. The artistic and commercial possibility of works like this was confirmed for me by the Grammy nomination of the Northern Concerto by the Spanish composer Joan Albert Amargós. Also for re-recording, I would like to make sure that I can at least try to add something to my older interpretations—some of which are not bad at all, I have to admit when I happen to hear them. So in some cases I would like to re-release some of my older recordings that still have a communicative factor that outweighs that they clearly are played by a younger and humanly less experienced person than I am today. We have been negotiating for a while with Sony/BMG to see if we can reach an agreement on terms, so I hope that in the near future additional recordings can be made available again.

          What, in fact, are your criteria for selecting repertoire to record?

An impossible question to answer! Although I am never in doubt. Somehow my only criteria is the vague one that I feel that this is the right thing to do next, and that I feel that I can do it with a certain kind of conviction I have learned to recognize in myself over the years. So far we have had a "theme" for each CD, like "Kreisler Inspirations," featuring music originally composed for violin, "Siesta" with music with a "Latin" touch from the 20th century, or contemporary concertos written for me. But one day I might like to just have a theme called "as mixed and varied as possible!"—a musical kaleidoscope—maybe. Again I draw parallel to my way of making music, where I just do the single details the way I feel is right—and not until afterwards do I get an idea of the whole picture, of what my criteria were. Actually, my creative process is in this way closer to that of improvising musicians and composers than to a great deal of concert musicians, I have realized.

          Jordi Savall is releasing new material on his own label, but he is also gradually re-releasing the 70 recordings he made for another label earlier in his career. Do you anticipate reissuing any of your 70-some older recordings?

I find it very good to have earlier recordings available—you can never tell which are meaningful to some people, and I have very often had enquires for out-of-print CDs. I understand totally what Jordi Savall—whom I admire very much, by the way—is doing with his label, and I often look for older recordings myself to find inspiration. The newest is not always best.

          Do you have a particular philosophy of audio quality?

If it is possible, we like to work in SACD. It gives the possibility to have an extraordinary experience with the right audio equipment, which I found unique when I heard it the first time. It is great to create the feeling of being close to the musicians, to use these modern possibilities!

          Two of the discs are SACDs, and one CD includes a DVD. How great a presence will SACDs and DVDs have in your catalog, and for what reason?

We would like to have as many SACD recordings as possible, and in the future we will also release some additional DVDs. It is expensive, so far, but also a very interesting issue. We are all generally getting more visually oriented, and opposite to my thinking years ago, I find that seeing the performer can enhance your experience of the music. Some experienced listeners can understand just as much without pictures, but seeing a performance never diminishes the listening experience, I think, and it may make the music more accessible to more people. However, DVD is an art form in itself, especially if you want to also add something to the music with other pictures than of just the performers, so you have to find the right film directors to work with. In this field we have some plans that we have been working with for five years, which I hope will come true in the next couple of years.
James Reel, Fanfare Magazine

Fabelhafte Flötentöne
Eckehard Uhlig, Porzheimer Zeitung
26 June 2007
Michala Petri war die bejubelte Solistin beim 6. Abokonzert des Südwestdeutschen Kammerorchesters Pforzheim

Formulierungen wie „filigraner Flötenzauber" oder „atemberaubende Brillanz" überbieten sich in den Feuilletons, wenn von der Blockflötenspielerin Michala Petri die Rede ist. Vom Pforzheimer Konzert der Solistin im Jahre 1999 schwärmen noch heute die Musikfreunde. Kein Wunder also, dass das 6. Abokonzert des SWDKO mit der Ausnahme-Flötistin im CongressCentrum nahezu ausverkauft war.

Michala Petri ist eine besondere Erscheinung im Konzertbetrieb und trotz ihres unscheinbar kleinen Instruments auf faszinierende Weise präsent. In den Solopausen, wenn das Orchester allein musiziert, steht sie hochkonzentriert aufgerichtet und nahezu regungslos vor dem Ensemble. Und selbst wenn sie spielt, sind eigentlich nur ihre Hände, der Mund und die leuchtenden Augen bewegt. Nun tanzen und wirbeln die Finger geheimnisvoll über die Grifflöcher ihrer Flöte hinweg, die in vorbildlicher Haltung zwischen Mund und Handflächen arretiert zu sein scheint. Was sich dabei an atemtechnischen Finessen zwischen den Lippen der Spielerin und dem Labium des Flötenkopfes abspielt, kann man nur ahnen. In der Verbindung von hoher Tonkunst und virtuosem Spiel liegt das Geheimnis ihres Erfolgs. Detailbesessen sind die kleinen Formeln und Figuren ausgearbeitet. Jede Phrasierung scheint bedacht und so wirkungskräftig in den Zusammenhang gesetzt, dass sich beim Zuhören die Sinne schärfen. Die Beweglichkeit ihrer Finger lassen Widerstände vergessen und bieten ein Bild schierer Mühelosigkeit. Es gibt Momente, in denen klanglich und spieltechnisch die Grenzen der Flöte überschritten scheinen, egal welches Instrument aus der Alt- und Sopranflötensammlung gerade genutzt wird. Freilich weisen die schwarzen aus Ebenholz andere Klangfärbungen auf als die rotbraunen aus Tiroler Ahorn oder die dunklen aus Zeder. Und natürlich kommt das behände Musizieren mit dem ganz hohen, auch als „Flautino" bezeichneten „Garklein"-Flötlein einer Sensation gleich. Den ganzen Reichtum ihres solistischen Könnens spielte Petri in der Wiedergabe der Suite für Blockflöte und Streicher des Engländers Gordon Jacob (1895–1984) aus, ein Stück, das moderne Kompositionselemente und folkloristischen Charakter sehr eng auf barocke Traditionen bezieht. Sanft schwebend und perfekt mit dem Duktus des Streichorchesters verzahnt, wurde das „Prelude" gegeben. Mit rhythmisch markanter Rasanz der folgende „English Dance", wobei auch der Humor des Komponisten zum Ausdruck kam. Impressionistisch, an Debussy erinnernd, wirkte die klagende „Lament", ausgelassen der Flötensopran in der amerikanischen „Burlesca alla rumba". Lyrisch-Elegisches steuerte die „Pavane" bei, ein versiertes Flötensolo hatten „Introduction and cadenza" zu bieten. Die erregende „Tarantella" sorgte mit unerhörtem Tempo für den Abschluss. Auch die Interpretation von Telemanns Suite a-Moll für Blockflöte, Streicher und Generalbass zeichnete sich durch draufgängerische Tongebung aus. Punktierte Rhythmen wurden federnd leicht genommen, geschlungene Kantilenen mit einer tonlichen Geschmeidigkeit ohnegleichen, die „Gespräche" zwischen Solistin und Orchester fein ausbalanciert. Vor allem in den rasanten Tempi der Allegro-Sätze sprudelten die spitzzüngigen Stakkati der Flautino-Läufe wie glockenhelle Silbertöne und zauberhafter Vogelgesang.

Das Südwestdeutsche Kammerorchester unter Sebastian Tewinkel meisterte seine Ensemble-Aufgabe mit Bravour und glänzte zudem in Händels Concerto Grosso G-Dur op. 6 Nr. 1, in Ottorino Respighis „Antiche Danze ed Arie und in Igor Strawinskys „Concerto en Ré" mit klaren Konturen, Transparenz und vor allem dynamischer Beweglichkeit. Da wollte der Beifall des begeisterten Pforzheimer Publikums kein Ende nehmen.
Eckehard Uhlig, Porzheimer Zeitung

Petri og Hannibal brød muren
Lars Zachariassen, Fredericia Dagblad
01 November 2005
Humor og alvor i skøn forening. I godt fem kvarter tryllebandt Michala Petri og Lars Hannibal i aftes en stuvende fuld Hannerup kirke. Ja, så mange havde fundet vej, at rummets arkitektoniske pryd, den halvcirkel formede mur, blev brudt af klapstole, der måtte sættes op ekstra. Også oppe bag muren. Musikerne og ægtefolkene Petri og Hannibal er et tip-top begavet og samtidig dejligt uhøjtideligt par. Fliden og talentmassen er så mageløs, at vi i selve jantelovens Danmark ikke ville løfte så meget som et øjenbryn, hvis parret skulle få den ide, at ville sætte sig selv op på en piedestal. For der hører de hjemme. Men på intet tidspunkt under hele koncerten gav de udtryk for at have nok i sig selv. De delte rundhåndet ud af gaverne og gav os et løft, vi vil kunne trække på, helt indtil lyset kommer igen.

Afslappet nærvær De forløser musikken med integritet og loyalitet, som i sig selv gør blød. De træder begge tilbage for musikken, men optræder samtidigt med et både dybt koncentreret og afslappet nærvær præget af charme og varme. Musikken klingede af højtid. Det kommer den til, når den sættes i klang med et så funklende teknisk overskud som i aftes. Tilsammen nåede de to at sætte så mange toner an, som der er stjerner på himlen. Michala Petri ophævede tyngdeloven med sine fløjter. Vi svævede afsted med lysets hastighed, eller vi drev for vinden som et dun fra et af dyrene i de mange tonelandskaber, som fløjterne skabte for vort indre.

Æstetisk I de fleste af de programsatte værker stod æstetikken i højsædet. Skønheden som sandhed og overbevisende kraft. Med Petris svimlende virtuositet og krystalklare høreblik for alt, hvad der rørte sig i musikken, var det en smal sag for os som modtagere, at lade os fange ind af musikken. Og hendes fortælling blev understøttet på det fornemmeste af Hannibal på henholdsvis lut og guitar.

Dansk præg Hans fortolkning af Segovias' transkription af Albeniz' Asturias var nok mere præget af et dansk end et fyrigt sydlandsk temperament. Men det forhindrede ikke farverne i at eksplodere, som de skulle og flænge solens indædte flimren. Tonerne klingede frit fra guitarens klangkasse, og stykket blev spillet så virtuost, at detaljens myldren kunne fungere som dynamo i et musikalsk drama. Ideeen med at bryde programmet og sætte Michala Petris eget arrangement af variationer over Mads Doss ind efter Asturias var god. På den måde undgik den mere lavmælte guitar at skulle optræde lige efter fløjtens lidt skarpere tonefokus. Og også - viste det sig -at komme efter Petris totalt afvæbnende opvisning i alle tænkelige eller snarere utænkelige kuriøsiteter og effektfulde virkemidler på blokfløjten. Og selvfølgelig: Uden bare så meget som skyggen af en misser. Bachs Air blev spillet dårende dejligt på fløjten uden en eneste drop i vejrtrækningen og dermed i klangen i ydertonerne, og de fem miniaturer af Grieg stod både faste og fulde af karakter. Nu skulle koncerten slutte, men publikum ville ikke give sig. Det ville høre mere, og fik det. To ekstranumre af hvilken Asger Lund Christiansens visuelt herligt stimulerende stykke om vipstjerten ikke gjorde mindst lykke.
Lars Zachariassen, Fredericia Dagblad

Jonglierkunst mit Flöten
Christian Ekowski, Frankfurter Allgemeine
05 October 2005
Michala Petri - So bescheiden sich die beiden dänischen Künstler eingangs dem Publikum präsentierten, so spektakulär geriet Michala Petri und Lars Hannibal der Auftritt ind der Acgidius-Basilika von Mittelheim mit Blockflöten in beiden Händen und einer fast mannshohen Langhalslauten. In dem von der Weinkellerei Balthasar Ress unterstützten Konzert des Rheingau Musik Festivals entzündeten sie nun ein ununterbrochenes Feuerwerk höchster kammermusikalischer Kunst, die aller quälenden Erinnerungen an Adventsmusik oder einförmige Barock-Exerzitien völlig vergessen liess. Michala Petri widerlegte in der Sonate für Altblockflöte und Basso continuo F-dur von Johann Sebastian Bach (nach BWV 1o33) die gängige Erfarungen vom rigiden Flötenklang, indem sie hinreissend lebenddig, mit aussergewönlich biegsamem Atem und flink ausgefürten Griffen das musikalisch anspruchslose un darum in der Autorenschaft angezweifelte Werk ausführte. Auch in den "Follia"-Variationen von Arcangelo Corelli bewunderte und genoss man den silbrig-gläsernen, in der Höhe ungemein klaren und voluminösen Klang. Atemtechnisch ohne physische Begrenzung und mit subtilem, warmen Ausdruck sorgte die Solistin in der Sonate für Blockflöte und Basso continuo g-moll von Giuseppe Tartini - der sogenannten Teufelstriller-Sonaten - für eine aussergewöhnliche und gewiss auch unvergessliche Interpretation, indem sie für die drei Sätze nacheinander zuerst eine Alt-, dann eine Sopran- und für den hochvirtuosen Finalesatz eine Piccolo-Blockflöte verwendete. Die Teufelstriller wären im souveränen Spiel von Michala Petri eine Kette stupend und fast unwirklich anmutend gemeisterter Schwierigkeiten. Nach der Pause kam das bemerkenswerte Können von Lars Hannibal verstärkt zur Geltung, der nun von der Laute zur Gitarre wechselte. Ein Werk von Köstlichem Humor war die "Garden Party" für Blockflöte und Gitarre op.37 von Asger Lund Christiansen (Jahrgang 1927), bei der sozusagen musikalish ein Pfau gespreizt umherstolziert oder in einem Dialog von Bachstelze und Kuckuck Michala Petri einen rasanten Instrumenten-Wechsel zwischen Sopran- und Altflöte vornahm, bis mit einem herrlich witzig-lakonischen ruf der Kuckuck den letzten Ton bekam. Nach den Variationen über ein Thema von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart für Gitarre solo op. 9 von Fernando Sor, bei denen sich Lars Hannibal gleichfalls als versierter Gitarre-künstler zeigte, schloss das ungewöhnliche konzert mit den liebenswert schlicht gespielten folkloristischen fünf Stücken für Blockflöte und Gitarre von Edward Grieg.
Christian Ekowski, Frankfurter Allgemeine

Schier unglaubliche Virtuosität
Augsburger Allegemeine
21 March 2005
Michala Petri und Lars Hannibal spielten bei den Sommerkonzerten im Kongregationssaal

Einen Höhepunkt des diesjährigen Konzerterlebens in Neuburg an der Donau setzte Michala Petri mit ihrem Partner Lars Hannibal, Musik won Barock bis in die Gegenwart interpretierten die beiden auf Blockflöte und Gitarre mit hohem Einfühlungsvermögen und schier unglaublich scheinender Virtuosität. Das kammermusikalische Glanzlicht der Sommerkonzerte zwischen Donau und Altmühl begeisterte das Publikum im komplett ausverkauften Kongregationssaal über die Massen.

Schon mit den ersten Tönen zieht Herzensruhe ein. Michala Petri spielt die Altflöte mit derart beseeltem Ansatz, dass alle Hektik alltäflicher Sorge unmittelbar heiterer Gelassenheit weicht. Mit staunenswerter Virtiosität und sanftestem Gefühl intoniert sie Johann Sebastian Bachs Sonate für Altblockflöte und Basso Continuo nach BWV 1033.

Lars Hannibal brilliert an der Laute wie nach der Pause an der Gitarre mit empathischer Zuordnung und idealer Kongruenz der Begleitung. Michala Petri ist hörbar keine Jüngerin der streng genommenen historischen Aufführung. Ihre Flöte strömt nur so von samtener Emotionalität, die in weiträumig gebundener Phraisierung eine hohes Mass an Wärme und sinnlicher Klangschönheit vermittelt. Blockflöte und Gitarre:die beiden wohl am meisten verbreiteten Instrumente, erstere ausserhalb des Kontextes historischer Aufführungspraxis meist nur gewürdigt alt "pädagogisch wertvolles, leicht erlernbares Schulinstrument" für Kinder und Jungendliche, wie die Instrumentenkunde zu vermelden weiss.

Weit gefehlt: Michala Petris Vortrag von Corellis "La Follia" in der von Corelli selbst publizierten Flötenfassung straft solche Naivität Lügen. Die 24 Variationen schöpfen kompositorische, technische und emotionale Möglichkeiten bis zur Neige aus. Michala Petri und Lars Hannibal widmen sich ihnen mit hingebungsvollem Blick auf die Schönheit einer Perle, die von allen Seiten betrachtet schimmert in unerschöpflichem Glanz.

Zuvor schon hatte die Flötistin Bachs Cello Suite Nr. 1 in einer transkribtierten Flötenfassung in einen neuen solistischen instrumentalen Kontext gestellt, der wohl bekannten Satzfolge ganz neue klangliche Aspekte abgewonnen. Dabei mögen die Gelehrten streiten, ob Bach so wiel emotionale Hingabe verträgt. Zum Hören im Hier und Jetzt kann diese Frage wohlgemut bejaht werden.

TartinisTeufeltriller-Sonate lässt wiederum die Virtuosität von Petri in den Vordergrund treten. Der Kontrast von Traum und Teufelsritt im 3. Satz wird unterstrichen durch den Wechsel von Alt- und Sopranflöte und wirbelt nur so in rasanter Fingerfertigkeit. Das sind freilich Kabinettstückchen, mit denen frau glänzen kann. Bei Petri jedoch kommt nie der Eindruck auf, die Virtuosität sei zur Schau gestellte Artistik. Es geht ihr spürbar darum, dem eher sparsamen Timbre der Flöte und ihrer scheinbaren Simplizität möglichst viel Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten abzugewinnen.

Das gelingt in einen erstaunlichen Klangspektrum um so differenzierter, je selbstverständlicher auch die anspruchsvollsten Passagen bewältiigt werden. Nicht einmal Glissandi oder schwierigste schromatische Läufe scheinen Mühe zu bereiten. Die zweite Konzerthälfte wechselt zwischen facettenreich funkelnden Glanzstücken wie Mauro Giulianis Gran Duette Concertante aus der fast blockflötenlosen Zeit um den Beginn des 10. Jahrhunderts, temperamentvollen Impressionen in den Zigeunerweisen von Pablo De Sarasate oder den Tangos von Astor Piazzolla und schwelgerischer Melodiosität in Jules Massenets Meditation aus der Oper Thäis und der eingängigen Fantasie Norwègienne von Edouard Lalo. Fast zu schön um wahr zu sein.
Augsburger Allegemeine

Den fuldendte musiker
Anders Beyer
07 July 2000
Michala Petri modtog Leonie Sonnings Musikpris ved en koncert i Tivoli. Hun kvitterede med musik og musikudfoldelse, som gør prisen indlysende.

I det andet ekstranummer - 2.sats af Vivaldis blokfløjtekoncert i C-dur - skabte hun en udtryksfuldhed i det musikalske foredrag, man ikke troede var muligt med en blokfløjte. Michala Petri fik Leonie Sonnings Musikpris lørdag aften i Tivolis Koncertsal. Kunstneren takkede og spillede helt ny og tidlig musik. Det er hverken muligt eller ønskeligt at problematisere valget af Petri til den prestigefyldte pris:-Hun er en musikerpersonlighed, som der ikke fødes mange af i et århundrede. "Godt nok" findes ikke i hendes verden. Derimod er "konstant at være på vej" mere rammende for kunstnerens ambition. Michala Petri er Danmarks store internationale solist med stjernestatus i hele den klassiske verden, og hun har samtidig bevaret sine fulde fem og sin snusfornuft. Det er godt gået. Hendes hele fremtoning og lyttende væsen burde give stof til eftertanke hos jeg-fikserede, selvovervurderede kulturkontorister med storhedsvanvid, der maser sig gennem verden. Michala Petri går forrest med det gode eksempel.

Ukendskab uden huller Ved Tivoli-koncerten havde Petri ønsket at skabe plads til helt ny musik af Per Nørgård, som i 1996 modtog Sonnings Musikpris. Nørgård er ikke en ukendt begavelse i dette land, det er derimod komponisterne Piers Hellawell og Steven Stucky. Sidstnævnte amerikanske komponist skal høre til de mere kendte i sit hjemland, og han havde da også komponeret et velklingende partitur til Petri med orkesterledsagelse - i dette tilfælde med Sjællands Symfoniorkester under Giordano Bellincampi. Mit ukendskab til Piers Hellawell er uden huller, hvilket enten kunne tyde på en brist i orienteringsevnen, eller en udtalt nonchalance i Havens musikalske informationsafdeling. Tivolis program oplyser intet om manden, der havde givet et Pyt-i-pande-værk med titlen Drum of the Nåjd til Petri og slagstøjsspilleren Evelyn Glennie. Som man sad og overhørte den sammenkogte ret, tænkte man, at der kun manglede et stænk panfløjte for at gøre retten helt uspiselig - og vupti sluttede værket med at komponisten lader blokfløjten lyde så pan-fløjteagtigt som muligt. Per Nørgårds af omfang korte stykke Tusmørkedialog på fem minutter, havde en rigdom af stemninger og syntes at have en tanke om evolution bygget ind i strukturen. Nørgård hælder ikke et virvar af musikalske farver og ekstravagante spillemåder ud over partituret som Hellawell, men udvikler tværtimod et helt særegent univers, baseret på et minimum af virkemidler. Det er meget suggererende og det virker mere originalt (feminint sofistikeret?) end at tonse ud med overlæsset bygningsværk.

Sammenspillets kunst Efter pausen havde Michala Petri selskab af Berliner Barock Solisten. Om disse musikere kan der ikke siges noget ufordelagtigt. Deres tilstedeværelse gjorde aftenen til noget absolut mindeværdigt. Ensemblet ledes af manden med det bedårende navn Kussmaul. Fornavnet er Rainer. Han spiller på en Stradivaruis bygget i Cremona i 1724. Det har han også fortjent. Kussmaul spillede en sonate for violin, strygere og basso continuo, der satte lytteren i en anden verden. Da kollegen, bratschisten Wolfram Christ gentog kunststykket med at henføre til andre verdener, med Telemanns Koncert i G-dur, så savner man ord til at gengive oplevelsen. I selskab med Petri blev det ikke dårligere. Alt var på plads, den tekniske beherskelse er uovertruffen, viljen til at gøre noget sammen er et must . Med dette samspil in mente, ville Petri, ved de mange indkaldelser til stående ovartioner, have de andre musikere med. Hun ville ikke stå alene med æren. Denne aften havde hun svært ved at trække kollegerne ind. De vidste, at det var blokfløjtemesterens aften. Hvis Michala Petri tidligere har lignet resultatet af en mors ambitiøse projekt, så står den modne kunstner med sans for det hele liv frem som først og fremmest sig selv, frigjort fra det moderlige ophav, styret af egne behov og ambitioner. Måske var det det, der lå i kunstnerens egen formulering om, at Sonnings Musikpris passende kunne markere en "ny begyndelse" i livet og karrieren.

Information, 19. Juni 2000, Anders Beyer
Anders Beyer

Petri´s Breathtaking Recital
Washington Post
09 February 1999
A recorder is an end-blown flute with which it is pretty easy to play "Yankee Doodle" badly and almost impossible to play music of even moderate difficulty well. Midway into Michala Petri's recorder recital Sunday at the National Institutes of Health - a recital of pure, utmost perfection - it became clear that her mastery of this marvelous instrument is absolute, and that her musicianship is on the same literally breathtaking level. She was beautifully partnered by Lars Hannibal on archlute and guitar. Petri's Bach (Sonata in F Major) had the finish and character of fine wood. In recorder transcription, she tossed off two baroque violin sonatas by Corelli ("La Follia") and Tartini (the fearsome "Devil's Trill") with fiery virtuosity and insouciant ease of execution. Then came transcriptions of Grieg piano miniatures, which as Petri played them were by turn achingly evocative ("Cattle Call"), chirps and whistles from a mystical glade ("Elve´s Dance") and droll, rustic warbles ("Stumping Dance") Petri´s own variations on a Danish folk tune featured what she called "untraditional techniques" and included humming the melody while ornamenting it with crystalclear recorder passages (impossible), and bending notes in all directions while maintaining a delightful musical pulse. Her encore - something about a wet jay and a cuckoo - was hilarious.

Washington Post
Washington Post
  OUR Recordings
Esromgade 15, opg. 1, 3rd floor, room 15
2200 Copenhagen N
Denmark
Tel: +45 4015 05 77
E-mail: hannibal@michalapetri.com
QUICK LINKS
NEWS
CONCERT SCHEDULE
BIOGRAPHY
DISCOGRAPHY
PROJECTS
COLLABORATORS
REVIEWS
GALLERIES
  AWARDS & NOMINATIONS
COMMISSIONS & PREMIERES
GUESTBOOK
CONTACT

OUR RECORDINGS WEBSITE
LARS HANNIBAL'S WEBSITE

 

 
 

Home | Contact | Copyright OUR Recordings 2002 - 2019. All rights reserved. | OUR Recordings' Official Website | Lars Hannibal's Official Website